ESTO 20

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
2 min readNov 8, 2019

--

I see the feather in the wind

Adhering to the metal of the strange grate

Out there

It’s said to be a sign

And I accept it’s so

+

I do not accept anything as fixed

Even the feather

It’s tenacious but one day

The wind will take it and perhaps it will

Be a sign to someone else

+

I look at the feather

And greet it

And do not think I must warm it because

The wind is cold out there

The feather will be fine

And so will I

And so will we

And so will all

+

Be positive always

Snap back to it if it eludes you

+

I am with Jesus and Abba

No day is new

No day is anything

Nothing is nothing

This is everything

+

I can see a shore I do not know

I can trace a way I have not traveled

I can float for hours upon a dream I can’t access

+

Jesus is smiling

Abba hides his

+

I hear things below that sound like

Well, they are mostly machine sounds

+

The feather undulates

It does not speak

+

I turned the radio on to test it

When I got up an hour ago

It does not function half the time

I turn it off

It is childhood static

All over again

I used to be a defeater of static

Stubborn, persistent, undefeated

The radio in bed with me

A secret frequently accessed

In the maid’s room meant for me

The static

Past magic

+

The steel to which the feather adheres

And the wind that jostles it

Show how I’ve grown

I had never heard of signs

Or semiotics when

Lux Theater was happening

+

But one thing is consistent

Had I seen the feather then

Had Jesus then told me

Yes, feathers are among the signs to look for

I would have believed

Without cracking a smile

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!