INQUIRY 2

Everything Comes Will Change but It Will Not Be a Membership Organization After All

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
2 min readDec 20, 2016

--

I have decided not to create a membership arm of Everything Comes. I got some good help from Keren for which I am grateful. But midway through the process, I realized that it is against my Internet values to create anything that asks people to pay for any text that is put up on a web site. I kicked myself when I recalled how frosted I used to get when I would go to Jstor and be asked to pay to read scholarly writing. And how bothered I am by current efforts of WaPo and other publications to limit my views of their offerings.

I am under no illusions. People are not flooding to Everything Comes. But that is all the more reason not to pretend that what I am doing is exclusive or special or otherwise worth a monthly fee.

Also, in thinking about membership, I realized there was much more I could do to make the open and unshuttered Everything Comes the way I fantasized a membership site might be. So in coming days, I will add a few elements to Everything Comes.

But no one will have to pay to see certain things. My membership site dreams are over.

Besides, I have always considered the way to earn on line is to write and publish books. Putting two and two together, I plan to make free texts of books available to anyone who buys one and lets me know. That could be the beginning of something good.

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!