read this letter
Everything Comes
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2016

--

Glacial

I see cold. Frost comes before me. Frost foments within me.
The crystallization is clean. The water is cold.
Anesthetize me. I am culled. Easier to see when I am still. Hold me
to the light. Examine me. Watch what I let pass through. Watch what I can
and cannot do.

I am cold because of you. I am safe when I am preserved.
Disanimate me. Bind me. Your environmental straps bind me to my bed.
I am alive somewhere within. The fire isn’t clean but it isn’t dead.
Drop me. Let me fracture. Overturn me and let me break into smithereens.
My jagged chunks will make for good meat.

My diamond striations and thick marrow will nourish you.
Look for the mild fire, the one you once coaxed. It exists.
It is there. It is not here. You did not kill it.
You did not capture it. Your mind is bright
but your hand is not strong.

Thus freed from my strictures, I float in glee. I am my own, on my own.
I enter new currents. I swim in abundant safety. I have transitioned.
I am my own form. The body no longer binds me. I am my own.
I bow for my blessing. I beat waves in the fluid and float forward,
float on.

--

--