Good reasoning is necessarily true

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
2 min readMar 15, 2016

I do not believe that there is any method OF reasoning that is good or bad. Reasoning itself represents a conscious decision to dope something out. To get from a question or conundrum to what the case is.

If I want to go to a ball game in June and it is March I can consciously summon up the problem and break it into an index. I would call this a process of abduction. It is a utility of reasoning. It is guesses of varying truth.

Once I have in mind options I can narrow it down to a method or resolution. I will not use Ticketmaster which I hate but I will call the stadium and go from there. Sort of inductive on the way to deduction.

I call and get some guidance.

Success will be tickets in hand or waiting at the gate. But It might just as reasonably be a decision not to go, because the cost of same has gone through the roof.

None of this is important but it does illuminate how simple the process is.

When our minds turn to questions like our capacity to heal ourselves of this or that, the matters become more existential. But we are not without resources. Surely our abductions will come up with more than one good guess.

Once again I am suggesting that reasoning is a process that is simply us willing to think consciously. It is what we do when we have a matter to consider. If we have a method it is one that works.

My triadic method is to take the first step as a reality to deal with, a word or topic or question. It is to submit it to an index which I have tested and found useful. I call it Ethics. It culminates in a consideration of truth and beauty as expression and action. It is thus in accordance with the pragmatic maxim which makes the substance of our consideration the actual practical effect of same.

Good and evil I insist are values which apply to everything. Wherewith this chart or whatever chart you think is more accurate.

Finally the truth of reasoning is in the degree to which harm is avoided and well being achieved. This in a universal context.

Peirce: CP 2.132 Cross-Ref:††

132. In the ninth place, although you think you reason wrong — else why study logic? — you think that by this reasoning process which is wrong you can correct your method, and demonstrate by bad reasoning beyond all peradventure that your improved reasoning is perfect.

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!