Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
2 min readJul 29, 2019

--

Here is another from my son Stephen in NEVIS. I have enjoyed his offerings and remember fondly his earliest mantra — I love God. Enjoy.

SWEET MANGO

A ripe mango rolled fast past me on a steep pitch of road, and I thought, what a waste. Why oh why, as I walked by. A sweet tasty fruit that most folk take for granted, are just left under the mango trees, but not abandoned, no, not by hungry people, donkeys, monkeys, cows and birds.

The mango tree, planted in warm climates worldwide, produces sweet fruit for many years, unlike annual crops that produce for one year and die,

with farmers in tears. The mango tree produces fruit June, July, August and September, living for over 300 years, the trees bear fruit yearly and stay alive through hurricanes, drought, and tropical storms.

Cultivated in tropical lands throughout the world,

for tens of centuries as a food source,

Mangoes were introduced to the West Indies in later years and thrived.

Enthusiasm and appreciation for the mangoes has been hopefully revived.

Why not capitalize on this precious fruit, which all cultures would die for.

Time will tell. When picking the sweet fruit from a tree, it should not be a chore,

Collecting mangos, no longer a bore.

Know the mango is a gift. The fruit is a blessing. Yes, a gift from God.

Stephen F. Rose

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!