BINDS

I DON’T KNOW WHEN I’VE FELT BETTER ON A HORSE

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

--

1

My title is the phrase I woke up to

My sleep becomes my way to see things through

This cogitation sees a double bind

And leaves me with an answer I can’t find

2

I spent the World War Two years in a haze

Unreal. More real than ever in some ways

My father’s wealthy clients took me in

And I believed my home was one with them

3

Of course there were the stables, horses too

Of course I rode. What else was I to do

I felt a favorite. I never fell.

When War was over this ended as well

4

Back to Albion my seeming family went

I cried, homesick. It shocked my mother then

I tried to ride once more but took a fall

My old life changed and I repressed it all

5

There was an infant speech commending peace

But not a single word can I release

My wishes still seem to be my command

But I still sense it wasn’t what I planned

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!