I feel like posting this every day

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
1 min readMar 19, 2016

No it never happened to me

All I have is a little empathy

The privilege I have is a gift like vision on reprieve

To empathize and limn the farthest of realities

Which never took me more than a few seconds

Catching someone’s passing eye

No it never happened to me

Exactly like that

But I am a rapist sure as shooting

In so many ways

My shares of Exxon

My taxes to Tonkin

The things I did not say to Power

Forgiven yes

We all live on forgiveness

But no victim

So

I don’t know how it feels

And I don’t have to

When you have to because overpowered

You are the victim of the worst of evil crimes

When you submit because unconscious

You end up half a suicide

I think of wounded warriors

And children I can save for pennies daily

And wonder if I can’t slip in the door

With a toe at least

By saying I’ve been mind-raped by

Not sharing better what I dimly sense

And what I fear to know

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!