Unalien Sky

I puked a solid mass of gelatin

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
1 min readJul 20, 2015

--

Winning The War Within is a collection of sonnets written precisely in Shakespearean iambic pentameter but minus punctuation. The sonnets are a progressive poetic autobiography.

From Growing Up, the first section of the collection.

I puked a solid mass of gelatin

Cream-colored on an oriental rug

I was just five the school was Oberlin

That one to five time gives my heart a tug

We lived across the street on Eightieth

Ten rooms two floors the best I fancy now

Yes though I am long past halfway to death

I’d go back there again if I knew how

I did go back it was not long ago

I walked from our two rooms near Herald Square

But I could not revive that long lost show

The puke remains my foremost memory

It had a marvelous solidity

Stephen C. Rose has written a number of books (Fiction/Non-fiction). You can tweet him here.

Enjoyed reading this piece? Please hit recommend and share with others.

The Coffeelicious on Twitter and Facebook.

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!