Where digital

I took the shortest way I could

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

--

I took the shortest way I could to come
No vision was vouchsafed
There was no need
I never will retrace
what has transpired
You’ll have to ask a question
I won’t mind

It really makes no difference
I came
because I can
I have a power now
It has no name
call it philosophy
It floats along
as if it had been there
forever like a statue

On its face
the most amazing smile
Old things for sure
but this is more brand new
Most all of it seems so

But now a strangeness past all reckoning
I saw a windblown one
her hair was blonde
I almost miss her now
now she is gone
And now these eyes
Are crystalline again

This is so strange
I came to lay things out
But now
New things have taken precedence
they have
As if there was no chance for time to stop
or an occasion was about to explicate

How small things get with situations changing
It all becomes unraveled
almost lost
Portentousness deluded in the dark
made foolish and undone

Recite it now
A Florentine
a rainy afternoon
A fever
and I sat among the pews
and mused there in the half light
Then it came
The music came

Perhaps I was dreaming
I was all alone
That cannot have been
Those sounds
Oh no they were not human, no
they were transfixing
with the darkness falling

There came a oneness with reality
I walked back slowly car sounds in the rain
seemed to articulate the sounds of things to come
Behind me the Ognissanti stood
unmoved

I do not change
My life moves up and down
It never seems to matter what I do
Oh yes a searing sentence here or there
“You should be leaving if you feel that way”
Events unfold
Who writes them
Are they free

I’m listening for the sound of
her coming
I know it’s true
if she were not to come
I wouldn’t posture this sanguinity
I’d fall in tears
and then my dam would break
There never is a past
just future comes

+++
I do not believe in firewalls but writers should have a way to earn online.
Here’s a reasonable solution. Paypal me.
Send contributions here. http://www.paypal.me/SteveRoseesto

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!