Pixabay

Irretrievable and gone

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
1 min readJan 18, 2018

--

It tells me you are not here
I know that part’s quite true
I keep hearing a ticking there it comes
I saw it come
I’m a man of my word
But there’s just me
Why are you here
What happened

I keep you secret
You are now opaque but why
What is your aim

Why did I fall in the first place
Who knows
But perhaps there is always
a love meant to fail
then returning and making
my mind turn to you

You were a mystery
I never will plumb
I took your bait and gave mine
in the cool of the night
And the lines that you spoke
were the chance I took
and they blew away as
fast as smoke and forest fires

So I will be sitting
and pondering off and on
And you will be there
irretrievable
and
gone

+++
I do not believe in firewalls but writers should have a way to earn online.
Here’s a reasonable solution. Paypal me.
Send contributions here. http://www.paypal.me/SteveRoseesto

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!