Lavish away

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
1 min readOct 17, 2017

--

Lavish away I understand

though I’m a heartless rogue

It’s my beloved

who would be so weirdly tied

that it reduces me to having to rethink

all things

+

My life was full of pets

way back

but I stayed unattached

Some words have more attraction for me

than such flesh and blood

+

Why such confessions

I’m in family

when writing

at least here

(How brazen this rogue is)

But anyway

I grow in penitence

even if memory

is all

that’s left

+

Sugar is gone

and Kathy’s tears are shed

and if a guard dog smiles at her today

she’ll light up like a kid at Christmas

and will tell me so when she walks in the door

so I can almost see it

+

But I confess

I could not go through

what is gone through

by those who love pets so

So from afar I’ll simply marvel

sans regret

knowing

it’s how things go

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!