LIMITS OF TOLERANCE

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
2 min readAug 17, 2021

--

1

Having proposed we defer to all with the phrase

“Not my will but thine be done”

How do I deal with the intolerable

How do I address a clear rejection

How do I practice love and still stand tall

2

What is intolerable is

Any speech or act that is harmful or hurtful

Often I will note it with a reaction

In most cases I need not finger a Soul

It is the sentiment I will not tolerate

But merely sensing that my reaction is satisfactory

Is an egoic exercise

I need to offer something positive that might inspire others

3

Rejections are challenges and it all depends

Sometimes bliss lies in ignoring

But other times there may be common ground

Play these by ear

Do not give tit for tat

Always know you are talking to a Soul

Who freely follows his or her own way

If you value your own freedom

You will find a loving way to respond

4

Practicing love and standing tall

Is balance in the face of provocation

Whatever your response is

Positive thoughts should lead

To positive results

We have no need to exacerbate

The toxicity of the intolerable

We can either walk away with a prayer for reconciliation

Or we can follow one of the paths suggested here

Or you can tap your own fund of affirmative responses

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!