Digital Art

Love is a most elusive quality (those crucial words)

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
1 min readJan 1, 2018

--

Love is a most elusive quality

It graces mouths of murderers

engenders suicides

and otherwise means

more obsession

than calmness

+

Love is most elusive

when exclaimed from

shriekland

to wherever

noise may end

+

But in my little world

it has a place

I’m happy with

+

It is too slippery to be

a value

It is too vaunted to be

in first place

I let it rest between two

stickler words

+

Freedom

Love

Justice

Then add another

for a measure

Non-idolatry

+

Justice trumps love

Freedom allows it

Non-idolatry

makes it almost comical

to speak of it

+

Sort of like Shakespeare’s

honor

So fallible

are we

+

When I count loves

I count them by degrees

and what remains

are just a few

I can’t explain

They’re Wittgenstein’s

unspeakables

too heavenly to be besmirched

and sandwiched

by

those crucial words

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!