Musing

Note to the Peirce List

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
1 min readJul 31, 2018

--

We have evidently a set of protagonists who will not let go. I think of Peirce as unfinished and not analyzable. I think efforts to treat his work as complete or satisfactory as a body of finished work does not serve his legacy. I was attracted to him as to Nietzsche precisely because of his incompleteness. It enabled speculations, guesses and no pretensions regarding what he meant by this or that. I have already graduated from seminary and I know all about hermeneutics and exegesis. Since the game here is like being back at Union, I will continue to be a marginal nuisance until I find people who know tons more than I do who are willing to talk about Peirce without pretending to know all that he intended to mean.

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!