NOTHING IS BETTER

Peirce List Conundrums

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
2 min readOct 17, 2017

--

The following is a post I sent to the Peirce List after being dressed down for being opaque. I do not belong there. I do not belong anywhere. I never have.

I have made my reply into something more my style.

+

I rose up

with no

specific sense

of Peirce

+

Nietzsche and Wittgenstein

were influences as well

+

Peircean

to me suggests

a man who filched food

from the Century Club

near where I write

and made his way down Fifth Avenue

passing a block

from where I now live

+

A man unjustly

perhaps providentially

given no quarter

by Harvard

generally unable

to have a career

save in measuring and

writing for bits of pay

+

Whose philosophy

appeared

in a popular magazine

+

My mother’s family settled

in Watertown

when Peirce’s family did

There is today a Mason walking path

from Cambridge

to there

+

Peirce was American

I am no hyper-patriot

Dostoevsky

and Charles Sanders Peirce

are comparable

Tied to their nations

inexorably

+

Not

what you mean by

“Peircean”

+

As to what Pierce thought

I don’t know

I read a lot

even in mathematics

which I can prove I

do not understand

+

What Peirce does

is take me

past dualism

to where he might have ended up

Making a methodology

ordinary

universal

understandable

emphatically not

passing muster with

most “Pierceans”

+

Nietzsche and Wittgenstein

traveled similar roads

+

All

post-Christians

largely nonviolent

scientific

mystics

with a streak of good values

and universal musings

+

Nietzsche may have

completed his

revaluation

with “The Antichrist”

(That’s a scholarly conundrum)

+

Nietzsche wasn’t anti-Jesus

He was confounded

between Z and Jesus

Perhaps that drove him mad

+

Wittgenstein was somewhat Peircelike

flying off the handle

Fallible and philistine

a Tolstoyan Christian

+

Peirce was an American

a mystic critic of greed

a lover of good things

+

Peirce may be the most

important

not cause he’ll emerge

as an academic replacement

for whoever is being lionized

this year or next

though

With with the academy you never now

+

It would be because

The bigger question is

whether the world gets to be

triadic

If so Peirce wins

+

If Peirce is the new Aristotle

it will be because his influence was similar

as in

No war instead of just war

that sort of thing

as in the unprecedented in

stead

of

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!