Privacy

Privacy for Real

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
2 min readMay 23, 2015

--

Books KU/KOLL Twitter Bio

Privacy in our world is almost a joke.

Privacy should be where one can practice and experience solitude. That is, a situation in which you are not brushed or addressed by passing souls. Where you are not subject to interventions.

Where it is understood that you are alone.

Clearly, it is possible to experience solitude anywhere. I can be completely within myself walking down Broadway in a crowd.

But it is my contention in this examination of policies for an ideal world that

Everyone Should Have A Room of Their Own

This is physical privacy.

This is the monastic cell.

This is the right of every soul on earth to a space that is their own.

It is that simple.

In my book cybercommunities, I have promulgated this idea as the supremely private spaces that exist within cybercommunities.

This is merely a placeholder for what does not yet exist.

I envision the eventual blending of graphene with other thin materials to create the completely soundproof, entirely thin and transportable, surfaces of our own rooms.

I see these wondrous spaces as the successor to the car.

I see them as the private spaces that succeed the detached house and take their places in cybercommunities as the dwelling and office areas that are, indeed the only completely private areas in this future iteration of how we might live.

All other spaces have elements of the public, all the way to completely public which will be at least half of the total space.

We are making a quantum leap to what is actually private. A space which is one’s own, soundproof and customized just as a car is today.

These rooms can go with the owner.

Because these spaces are modular they can be infinitely reproduced anywhere in the world. That means if I move continents away I can have my own room when I get to my new destination.

This is the reality that can be. This is the eco-safe means of progress. This is the move past sprawl and oil.

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!