Reparations Detroit 1969 Jonathan’s Wake

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
2 min readSep 25, 2017

--

It may the most good I’ve ever done

it ended tearfully

I write about it in the book above

It goes back fifty years

+

Reparation is the ignored heart of justice

Reparation evens up symbolically

+

Hurt never can be repaid

but it can be acknowledged

Reparation will be be made

More will be done than said

+

Wronged people

everywhere are owed big time

Oppressors will toe the line

Reparation is the way

It is a sacrament

like bread and wine

+

Oppressors cannot write

instructions for oppressed

but they can doff oppression

and many do

Oppressors cannot overcome the past

but repentance will always

manage to get through

+

When Martin had a revolution

I joined up

Worked with Diane, Jim

and Kelly

nor far from

Music Row

+

Will became my my lifelong partner

“Beloved community”

was heard

+

But it was not to be

Thanks LBJ

Some do not agree

There’s no one way

+

I was brash

I proposed reparations

But my right

to speak out was

withdrawn

+

I went home

proposed it

anyway

+

We gathered steam

went to Detroit

The churches

smacked us down

+

Lost career

recovered some

then told stories

in songs

+

Exclusion’s evil

from whatever quarter

Evil hurts all round

+

Beyond exclusion

lies the truth

So beautiful

when found

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!