SBNR

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

--

Spiritual but not Religious suggests

A fairly distinct separation

Religious is mostly institutional

A matter of identity

Ranging from creed-based to casual

Spiritual is beyond creed and often accepts

Spirit (non-physical) and often an afterlife

As central. As well as trusting one’s experience

A global cottage-industry exists, composed

Of healers, life coaches, mediums, and many others

Who are fundamentally Spiritual

The institutions of religion are legion

Ranging from the massive structure of Catholicism

To the Spiritualist Church which could be said to

Be more Spiritual than institutional

2

SBNR is a simple designation of the phenomenon

Folk who are Spiritual But Not Religious frequent

The podcasts of Jeff Mara and others

They explore Near Death stories and various

Books and videos promising access to spiritual experiences

These experiences tend to be paranormal

Clairvoyant, Clairsentient and various other forms of clarity

That relate to intuition, meditation and simply willful practice

A flood of books from this growing gathering can be found online

3

I myself moved from religion to spirituality

My theological education was barren when it came to experience

And I eventually found the institutional church impossible

Both professionally and in terms of the meaning of life

But I clung and still cling to Jesus

And many SBNR folk do as well

My book Beyond Creed is available on Amazon

When, decades ago. I sought guidance

I turned to Abba first. He is the one to whom Jesus prayed.

I then turned to Jesus. I was amazed to find him humorous and truly open

There is an intimacy here I would not trade for anything

The Spiritual teachers have a multitude of Spirits they revere and speak for

And in a sense we Spirit folk are transforming religion

And in my judgment this means that we are moving

Into an era of DIY spirituality

All souls are unique individuals

They fend for themselves

Many have professions in healing arts, counseling

And various Spiritual skills

We may eventually see cross-fertilization

Of spiritual and religious programs

As Proof of Heaven events become better known

Theologies may become more universal in scope

We shall see

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!