SITTING DUCKS

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

--

We sane are sitting ducks for dictators

What’s more, we enable them

(I’m taking either side with good reason

I understand how both sides of this work)

2 Side One

“I’m predisposed to side with underdogs

Regardless of the side I’m on

Regardless of much else as well

My mind’s made up. I love the way he sounds”

3

“My sidekicks are rejects. We’re chosen ones.

Since we despise all others, we are free

We have our Voice. We know who our friends are

We’re a minority, but duck if you see us”

4 Side Two

“Voice worshippers, I want you far away

Your hatred has no reason I can see

I write you off as crazy and mindless

Most of the time, for me, you don’t exist”

5

“You are united. Our side is diverse

We’re half materialists, half not so much

We go our ways. Mostly nonviolent

And sadly, we’re the real sitting ducks”

6

“United, we could say we don’t take sides.

United, we could oppose hurt and harm

United, we could vote for what serves all

Otherwise, we’re mere dictator meat”

7 Coda

But wait, a great SHIFT now is underway

Spiritual, peaceful and positive

It sees there is more life beyond this life

It knows that earth is hard but also show

8

Heaven is the source of this great SHIFT

It lives beyond the headlines everywhere

The only love it knows has no conditions

The common home of all sides is heaven

9

The world’s not coming to an end

We have the freedom to build or destroy

We’re moving to a time of peace and love

To living here as we have lived above

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!