Getting attention

Snap Books — an idea for DIY book-selling at no cost

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
3 min readFeb 10, 2018

--

Books KU/KOLL

Twitter

Bio

First of a series that will detail the adventure — step by step from conception to actual sales.

I am not an organizer any more

but I like to spread ideas

a recondite conclusion for one of 82

My mind’s still spry

and thought prevails

as long as there are words

So I’ll keep on and hope that others

don’t find this absurd

+

Admit it. We all want to go viral. We can control the aftermath. Our time has come. Yawn. We can dream, can’t we?

I am speaking for millions of colleagues. We are those who write the Books and self-publish them. With this article, I am starting a brand new book with a brand new idea: SNAP Books. How we can get our works out there for nothing. That’s easy. And how we might do it without breaking our backs. That’s more difficult.

The most difficult is actually selling the books. That is the purpose of Snap Books. I am going to go through the process I am suggesting. Step by step I will share what I am doing. Starting now.

Components

There’s just me. No team. Just me and this keyboard and many, many ebooks for sale on Kindle using the “Select” option. I do not write popular books and I am not likely to change. I read all the advice and reject most of it. I would be happy to #Sell a few copies of each book each day. That’s what I intend to do with this exercise.

My existing components include my Twitter account which also sends my tweets to my Facebook account. Though I have an intelligent and long-term following, I do not sell books there with much success. The reason is that I do not stick to a method and I have found no method that is failsafe.

My account is representative of me which means that whatever is moving me is the subject of a day’s tweets. My life is not my books.

I should note that getting a lot of Twitter followers is not an objective or a necessity. Just having an account and knowing how to use it is what will work on this project.

Medium

My other components include my Medium account which has become a key element in my considerations of Snap Books. Medium is where I intend to publish my Snap Books. Medium has a firewall pay program which I refuse to use. I keep my publication, called Everything Comes, free and clear. With a Medium account, seamlessly tied to Twitter, since the management is the same, you have a good editing platform and a place to store and publish everything you need to put there.

The plan

My intention is to promote a book in the following way. Write it. Put the Word document up on Kindle (KDP). I will create a page that presents text from the book. I will delete the text periodically and replace it with a further excerpt. Anyone who is interested it can follow along. I shall see and report any results.

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!