They could be — digital

The Chapel Bells

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
1 min readJan 23, 2018

--

I swear I heard the chapel bells
I’m not sure why I did
My location is different
I do as I am bid

Through the window there is light
and I could follow it
all the way to where I’ve been
and see things for myself

That would be nice I wouldn’t mind
I’d shiver in the cold
But I’d be flying just the same
That surely would suffice

I think so maybe yes
but now I see what’s underneath
a talisman a scrap a sign
a past is brooding there

Why must he live exactly
where he was back then
that ageless harbinger
as if to confirm things I’ve known
and still spurn living with

I know I never need to budge
but oh my mind betrays
old things inside my secret trove
and I am new undone

+++
I do not believe in firewalls but writers should have a way to earn online.
Here’s a reasonable solution. Paypal me.
Send contributions here. http://www.paypal.me/SteveRoseesto

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!