THE PRAYER OF PRAYERS

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

--

The Lord’s Prayer has undergone countless revisions. Early on, it may have been the simple plea “cancel my debts”. Several decades back I turned it into a sung version. That is, a metrical version. And I added a few emendations. In the spirit of co-creation. I believe Spirituality is becoming more and more DIY. And that we should share what we do. This is what I wrote.

1

Abba whose home in Heaven is

Hallowed and holy is your name

Let your realm come, your will be done

Till Earth and Heaven are the same

2

Give us this day our daily bread

Forgive the wrongs that we have done

As we forgive those who do wrong

Lead us not into temptation

3

Deliver us from evil, Lord

And guide us safely to your shore

Yours is the power to heal and mend

Yours is the glory evermore

Over time, I have concluded that singing this is past all need to assign it a melody. It can be sung to whatever rises. And it can be spoken. And it is free for the taking.

Cheers and Love, S

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!