THE SONGBIRD AND THE QUEEN

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

--

The songbird and the queen sat by the river

The queen dangled her feet in the brown mud

They had not met for many moons in passing

They spoke about the strange clouds and the flood

+

“I can’t believe that fish can fly to heaven”

“They can’t until they get there,” the queen said

“They once had wings before they took to water

“But there’s no turning back. The sky is red”

+

“There’s times I wish my wings would disappear

“I’m tired of display and random thought

“I’d rather be an apothecary

“And live without a fear if being caught”

+

“I know what you mean,” the queen responded

“Something ordinary and obscure

“Life behind a counter, undefended

“Did the sky just turn green, I’m not sure”

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!