WHEN CARLOS SMILED

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

--

A conductor. Some say he was the best

Carlos Kleiber named. Though Argentina

Would never be his life-long residence

His music was at once both clean and wild

Perhaps revealed the best when Carlos smiled

2

I never knew him save from videos

But there I saw him clear, indelibly

He upped the tempo and fine tuned the swoops

Rehearsing in a manner that seemed mild

But it told quite a tale when Carlos smiled

3

That smile began intensely, from within

Then danced with the crescendos as they rose

And as his arms swept to each side in joy

His clean and wild performances were styled

And so my heart would rise when Carlos smiled

4

Each one of us has their superlatives

The rarest of the treasures our life gives

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!