The 17-Question “High School Days” Challenge Is A Trip Back In Time

Introducing the 17-year-old version of me

Scot Butwell
3 min readFeb 27, 2023
Photo credit: Teenvogue.com of Perks of Being a Wallflower

Deb Palmer tagged me to do the high school challenge.

I tried to add details to my 17 answers to make them interesting.

Hope you enjoy getting to know the 17-year version of me.

I was a shy kid, but I found my voice in a journalism class.

I wrote a story about a soccer player nicknamed the Mad Mohican and an English teacher who traveled with her husband in a recreational vehicle.

And that quiet kid sitting next to me … turns out he was a story.

He taught karate classes in a dojo after school.

  1. What year did you graduate? 1987. The #1 song of the year was “Walk Like an Egyptian” by the Bangles. I still love listening to 80s music.
  2. Did you carpool? No. It was the school bus or a ride from my mom.
  3. What kind of car did you drive? I didn’t have a car until after I graduated high school. It was a yellow Chevy Chevet. I burned out the clutch.
  4. It’s Friday night, were you there? Occasionally, my friends and I managed to be “there” or we ended up somewhere doing something. We probably would’ve run into girls similar to…

--

--

Scot Butwell

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.