Diana C Ariza
ASTA- PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT
5 min readMay 31, 2020

--

My heart aches for all .. as I’m sitting down drinking my coffee and reading.

Now reading the news. Reading my friends status in social media in Miami, Baltimore, DC and Atlanta. It’s shocking! A lot of my friends are a mix family, and I never understood why a neighbor told me this area was the safest for them. I currently live in the South — A side that is new for me as we lived a lot of years in Miami, in Orlando and in Montgomery county in Maryland, nearby Washington DC.

As Hispanics we feel somewhat the same way.. unfortunately. There are only 3 Hispanics families in my kids school, one Hispanic teacher.

I’m used to it as I worked for Corporate America in the banking industry and when the Obama Care plan became a law for the Mortgage loan . In a time where my signature made a family kept a property or lose it completely. I was a loan originator for the 2.5% mortgage rate in 2018. I was present in DC when President Barack Obama became president and I felt the world finally changed!

My kids are white and look like Americans even though both of us as Hispanics. I’m Colombian and the dad is Venezuelan. White and light eyes and light hair, he doesn’t look Hispanic at all. So he hasn’t encounter with the issues I have had. Specially as a short, Colombian woman, who looks younger and the babysitter of two kids rather than their mom. I was used to the bad treatment and elite way to handle things since I became a mom and my kids went to an elite school which was based on grades, good reputation and their gifted program. Although this goes above and beyond the daily feeling… it’s a reality we have in USA.

White, Hispanics, black- the color and race won’t make much of difference. Unfortunately we only see in the news what will get the others to wake up the rage that most have inside. Have you seen how they treat Mexicans? Have you seen the way Colombians are treated?

I’m not defending that we, unfortunately as a foreign country, have had bad reputation. As a a woman who travels, I have had bad experiences in airports with TSA and doctors! And I have worked in all these fields. I used to work for an airline being the TSA pre-check where I found our many disturbing cases … but that’s for another story.

My point is- that we still INSTILL in many of our kids and society that It is ok to behave this way. That IT IS OK to degrade anyone because we don’t agree.lets leave to agree to disagree.

Freedom of speech and thought matters, especially when it is speech and thought with which we disagree. The moment the majority decides to destroy people for engaging in thought it dislikes, thought crime becomes a reality.

Ben Shapiro

I’ve been stopped by cops and is a mix experience : with special needs kids and being a Hispanic with American white kids. A year ago I was almost arrested one night near LEGOland. It was my fault for not knowing my license was suspended .. the way one of the woman police treated me and was arresting me in front of my kids was the most detrimental and scary experience I have ever had…

An african American cop felt my pain. My kids were crying and scared the cops will take me away. He was so NICE and respectful that he waited for my parents to pick us up but they were working and almost 2 hrs away…. it was nighttime after we got out of legoland.. you can imagine how tired and scared we were.

The cop made the decision he didn’t want to have me arrested and spend the whole weekend until Monday for me to be released for some paperwork the lawyer didnt send me or if he did I was Constantly in the hospital so I didn’t get it…. all was due for court fees

At the end of that night, two hours later he followed me until a McDonald’s where I could be safe with my kids. He told me if I felt unsafe to call 911 and he will come back for me. I was near LEGOland where we are a target.

I will always pray for that cop. Always thankful because he told me it was easier for me to fight it in court than him taking me in front of my kids to jail. A woman , Hispanic for a misplacement of paperwork because everything was paid. I had a bad encounter but I had an angel like him in my side… that rarely happens.

Months later I flew to the Lakeland court and paid my volunteer dues as I couldn’t do volunteer work. The cop never showed up and in a way I wished so I could thank him.

Aftermath is that my kids are super scare that cops will stop me. All because they were playing with my car and turned off the headlights.. my son was misbehaving and kicking really bad while I was driving since his autism reactions are really bad in the car.

I’m not an African American

I’m not in that category or even a fully American- by choice- just a Resident who will eventually proceed to take the flag and rights more seriously.

I have lived in USA for 20 years; the country that has given me a sense of RIGHTS, JUSTICE and Law we can abide by.

But we have to respect our flag…

the ones who FIGHT for our current rights..

they fought with the head high and it violence..

it took years and many bad experiences. Why do we want to go back to stone ages.. what do we get out of it.

We should embrace what we have and be better at it. Instead of pointing fingers..

Let’s deal with the unjustice in a polite and respectful that THEY WILL LISTEN

--

--

Diana C Ariza
ASTA- PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT

Entrepreneur & Startups | Social Media |Non-Profit| Mom | Disabilities Advocate | Emprendedora | Nurse | www.ASTAbusiness.com https://about.me/dianac.a