Eyes wide open

The Adventure in Bangladesh

Vitùc
VISUAL POETRY
3 min readDec 23, 2016

--

I went 2 weeks in Bangladesh.

The first week I went mainly in the region of Gaibandha District to shoot a documentary ‘Voice of Bangladesh’ for the NGO Friendship friendship.lu who supports communities mainly in the shifting nothern river islands, known as “Chars”.

The second week I traveld from Dhaka to Chittagong and finaly in the Syhlet district to film some impressions of life in the cities.

In Bangladesh espacially in Gaibandha District, I rediscovered all the things I thought we had lost: the joy of life, the innocence, the simplicity, the human warmth, the authenticity, peace, space and freedom … or almost.

“It’s like I found back the human being“

How did I feel during my trip?

“Sometimes I felt like Robinson Crusoe or an adventurer…especially on the chars.”

“Sometimes like a star making selfies with the local people.”

“Sometimes I felt like turning back in time …being on an other planet or being like in a dream.”

“Every time I was lost in translation…

….and sometimes I missed my spaghettis.

To resume, Bangladesh is a wonderful country … I have never met such franc, kind and hospital people like the Bengalis.
And what great workers ! They made me often think of ants … I saw everywhere legs, hands and fingers of men, women, young and old … but also of kids … and that put some tears in my eyes.

Yes, I will never forget all these beautiful and intense moments and faces.

EYES WIDE OPEN

life impressions → 26'

“Hypnotic, human and utterly beautiful”

Go full-screen and use your headphones.

‘Voice of Bangladesh’

documentary→26'

a vibrant tribute paid to the dignity and courage of the inhabitants of the Chars of Bramapoutra River and to the empathy of the Friendship teams working within its communities which, otherwise, are largely forgotten.

Go full-screen and use your headphones.

--

--

Vitùc
VISUAL POETRY

Visual storytelling, experimental, poetry, short films, music clips, photography