Darius
Everything Shortform
Jun 24, 2021

--

I had a break from writing.

Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

Not a full stop. I’ve written few pieces but nothing to compare when lockdowns kept us indoors. I realised that writing just for sake of writing doesn’t bring much happiness. I enjoy writing when I feel like it. If there is nothing to tell I rather keep quiet. Medium is set up in a weird way that it catches people with a promise that if they write a lot they will succeed in becoming second Ernest Hemingway or Hunter S. Thompson. Some of us will become or already are known writers but the rest will be running after the unreachable carrot. I am not denying that it is pleasant when people read my stories/opinion pieces but that doesn’t mean that I must write any kind of rubbish.

--

--