I have a monster in my head. It comes often and tells me what I’m allowed to do.

You probably think I need a psychiatrist, but my beast’s name is migraine.

I want to go out on a hot summer day. Sometimes it’s fine, but my beast is afraid of the sun. When it’s too bright outside, my beast wakes up and gets restless.

I made plans to go have a chat with my friend in the café. Fine but… my beast hates caffeine — in any form.

And speaking of drinks, my beast gets upset when hungry. Skipping meals is not allowed. Nibbling something sweet? Mmm, nice. But hopefully, the treats don’t cause a blood sugar crash, or my beast gets absolutely mad.

Poor sleep? My beast absolutely hates it. Who can function properly when sleep-deprived anyway?

Photo: Pixabay

Article eight of the 60-day challenge by Alain Polo.

--

--

Neurodivergent ai
Everything Shortform

Invisible disability, autism, ADHD, migraine, epilepsy, mental health, digital art. Are you a Medium member? https://medium.com/@neurodivergent_ai/membership