Sharon Woodhouse
Everything Shortform
Sep 15, 2021

--

I have adjectives and I’m not afraid to use them.

Photo by Bárbara Fróes on Unsplash.

Ebonics, Spanglish, Creole, Pidgin Hawaiian, Konglish. Language is organic, evolving, co-creative. Art more than science. It follows its own logic.

Do you know the philosophy of architect Mies van der Rohe? Less is more.

Sure, but have you seen a Bollywood movie? Sometimes more is more.

Why do I roll my eyes at another pronouncement to expunge adjectives and adverbs from one’s writing? Say bollocks and go about inserting adjectives wherever I please? They exist. Humans invented them cause they’re useful for conveying things we want to say.

Burlap, glitter, and gray paint exist too. You don’t necessarily have to over-use these in you craft projects, but your arty repertoire would be lesser without them.

Anyway, I have adjectives and I’m not afraid to use them.

--

--

Sharon Woodhouse
Everything Shortform

Sharon Woodhouse is an author coach, publishing consultant, and project manager. She was an indie book publisher for 25 years. www.conspirecreative.com