Toni Crowe
Everything Shortform
1 min readAug 6, 2021

My neighborhood, which is transitioning, is full of life.

Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

Twenty-plus years ago, we were a middle-aged married couple with children. My neighbors were empty nesters happy to see younger people moving in. Now, I’m the empty nester thrilled that houses are changing hands and the younger couples are moving in.

A pleasant neighborhood requires balance. Too many young people or too many older people take away the diversity. We want the older couple walking down the street, the middle-aged people going to work, and the young children riding their bikes on the road. The transition makes for friendly conversation which allows us to know a little about each other. Nothing can protect your home like a nosey neighbor. Yes, we even need the neighbors who sit on their porch and yell at the kids, “Get off my lawn.”

--

--

Toni Crowe
Everything Shortform

Sharing the hard lessons I've learned in life. Best-selling author. Humorist. Editor. Writing whatever interests me . Owner: No Air. Editor:MuddyUm.