Is the creative side of you dying?

Here are ways how it never will.

Syed
Everything Unorthodox
4 min readApr 24, 2020

--

Photo by Laurencia Soesanto on Unsplash

Creativity is something which is free of boundaries. You can be creative in any way and in any field. Stir that brain of yours and learn new stuff everyday. What matters is the ‘creativity’ part…!

I love talking to people. I am interested in knowing them and what they do, and most importantly why they do it. Or why they don’t. It’s not because I am too nosy or don’t respect people’s privacy. I am only curious.

Dialing back a couple of years, I was in a dilemma (maybe still am), that what is it that I am good at? What is it that I wanted to do? What do I love doing like all those influencers used to say, for being successful?

I wasn’t good at anything. But I did like the notion of creativity. I always wanted to build something new, do what others refuse to do or won’t do.

Of course, most people won’t walk a 25km distance on a cold-weather day because it is not trending (But, I did!).

But not having a talent got me thinking about other people, it made me shift my focus from me to other influencers and common beings around me. There had to be something about the influencers for being an influencer and for the others being, well, others.

And so I started learning and observing the traits of successful entrepreneurs VS people like me.

I am reading books on self-improvement, novels, textbooks, blog posts, articles, and whatnot. I am being an entrepreneur.

I am worried about my 9–5 job and I am worried about the next paycheque. I am being a normal being.

I am emotionally intelligent and I know that I cannot control the stimulus but I know what my response should be. I am being an entrepreneur.

I am reactive to all the situations around me and so I am emotionally exploited. I am being a normal being.

I have an attitude of gratitude. I Thank God and everyone who has ever helped in my life. I am being an entrepreneur.

I complain, condemn, and criticize everything that I don’t have control over. I make excuses for not being a professional. I am being a normal being.

I am an independent person capable of creating value. I help others as much as I can because I have been through that excruciating process. I am being an entrepreneur.

I learn new stuff every day. I always stay productive. I write a lot. I read a lot. I have a lot of fun too. I am an entrepreneur.

I care only about the 30th of this month. I am a normal being.

Reading people makes me live better. I like to know more about human behavior. I believe that by knowing the pros and cons of human behavior I can live a meaningful life and help others with the same. Come on, we are professionals here. We help. We give. We learn.

I love being an entrepreneur. I do all sorts of things to keep my hunger for creativity and value alive.

I did write an article on LinkedIn about how I keep the innovation alive in me. You can find it here (Recommended read.)

I don’t let the innovation and creativity die in me. E.g. I like to interior design my own room with random stuff.

The image above is taken in my room. It may not look much but it serves its purpose for me. Like I said it’s my way of keeping me alive. It has random figures, quotes, poetry, my dream company’s logo and name.

Maybe that’s why it’s called creativity or innovation because you create your own world of possibilities.

And for that you don’t need any approval, you are the CEO and the worker, you have the permission to allow people in you world.

I also like making and directing videos.

Above is the screenshot of iMovie. I am editing a video that I made. Yes, I do know how to use the software. After all, I am a Software Engineer.

We are after all human beings. We crave for love and appreciation. But first let us appreciate ourselves. Let’s embrace our creative self.

If you do like my post, please give it a thumbs up (❤️️), and share it with your network. Thank you for reading.

--

--