#2 Going Up a Down Escalator

I don’t hate school because

it’s boring

or because my teachers are mean.

I don’t get bullied

and it’s not so challenging that I can’t do it.

Granted, I don’t like waking up at 6:30 every morning.

Did you know that waking a 14 year old up

at 6:30 every morning

has the same effect

as waking up an adult at

2:00 am?

And because I’m a teenager

I obviously stay up late

on my phone

texting my friends

or my boyfriend about the latest gossip

right?

Well maybe once I

get out of school

I drive straight

to work then home.

I do my homework

and chores

and shower

and sleep.

So the excuse

“I’m just tired”

isn’t a lie but it’s not the

truth

either.

I am tired.

I’m a lot more

than tired.

I’m stressed beyond belief.

Part of it is just me.

It’s been this way

for six years.

I can’t

help

it.

This constant nagging in my head,

telling me to

be better

get my *stuff* together

just relax.

Well I can’t just relax.

Not when

my relationship with my dad is crumbling to pieces,

when all my friends are wanting different things from me,

when I’m getting called a spoiled rich bitch

for buying myself a nice jacket with

my own money.

Not when I can hear my mom and stepdad fighting at

2 am

and thinking about how long two and a half years is.

School was supposed to be my safe place.

A place where I could do what I was good at

and succeed

and be the best.

School was my chance at escape

from all of this.

But it gets to a point where it’s just a little

too much.

Where I’m sitting in class

thinking about nothing in particular

until I’m thinking about everything,

in particular,

and the tears well up.

And the teacher thinks you’re crying over a stupid map;

You’re not crying over the stupid map.

You know there’s no time to do the stupid map,

and your grade isn’t going to like that.

And every time your grade

slips

your chance at escape

slips.

It’s a never-ending cycle

where doing the most

to succeed

winds up being what ruins it.

--

--