Back on Medium After a Rough 3 Days: A Journey Through Subscription Troubles

Awais Ali
EverythingYouLove
Published in
3 min readSep 29, 2024

Sometimes, technology has a way of throwing us off track when we least expect it, and that’s exactly what happened to me this past week.

Image by Austin Distel from Unsplash

As a content creator and an avid reader on Medium, I had subscribed to the Friend of Medium (FOM) plan, enjoying my 7-day free trial. But, on September 26th, when it was time for the paid subscription to kick in, I faced an unexpected obstacle. My subscription was canceled automatically, despite having 4500 PKR in my account—plenty to cover the $15 (around 4400 PKR) charge. The problem? The taxes weren’t clearly described, and this left me short.

Image by SumUp from Unsplash

With the end of the month approaching, I was running low on funds. I decided to go for the $5 Member subscription as a temporary solution, but this, too, resulted in repeated declined payments. It felt like a dead end.

For three days, I struggled with this issue. As someone used to reading and engaging with my fellow writers on Medium, it felt like an eternity. I missed the interaction, the inspiration, and the drive I get from being a part of this amazing community.

Image by Berkeley communication from Unsplash

Finally, after countless attempts, I decided to reach out to my bank’s helpline, and it turned out to be the right move. After troubleshooting the problem, I was able to successfully subscribe to the Member plan. It felt like a small victory in the midst of a stressful few days.

I plan to upgrade back to the Friend of Medium plan soon, but for now, I’m just grateful to be back with all of you. It was heartwarming to see that during my brief absence, many of you continued reading my blogs and showing me love and support.

Image by Lukas Blazek from Unsplash

Now, with just a couple of days left in September, I’m back and ready to push myself to reach my Medium goals. It’s been a bumpy ride, but I’m ready to make the most of these last few days of the month!

Thank you to everyone who stuck by me. Let’s keep growing together!

--

--