How to Analyze Your Performance and Grow Faster on Medium?

Awais Ali
EverythingYouLove
Published in
5 min read3 days ago

Are you curious how top writers on Medium use their stats to improve their performance?

Image generated by Chatgpt

When I first started writing on Medium, I was excited about sharing my ideas and connecting with readers. In 12 days of August I couldn’t even hit 100 views on medium. But I quickly learned that just publishing articles wasn’t enough to grow. To truly succeed, I had to learn how to read and use the stats Medium provides. Understanding these numbers helped me go from a new writer to getting over 2.5k views, 1.5k reads, and earning $136 in my first month.

In today’s blog I am going to teach how you can decode your Medium stats to grow faster and reach more readers.

1. Views:

Image generated by Chatgpt

Views tell you how many people clicked on your article. It’s exciting to see this number grow, but just having views doesn’t mean your readers are sticking around.

How to Use Views:

  • Track what works:

Check which topics and headlines bring the most views. For me, articles on personal growth and productivity got the most clicks.

  • Test headlines:

A strong headline makes a big difference. I started getting more views once I learned to write catchy, clear titles that grabbed attention.

2. Reads : How Many People Actually Read Your Article

Reads are even more important than views. In your reads stats you can check the ratio of readers who stay on your stories at 30 seconds.

Image generated by AI

By analysing reads stats I differentiate how many members and no members readers read my article. How much I am being paid for specific numbers of reads.

Important Note :

All genuine writers feels discouraged because of spammers who skimmed the headline and leave comment. By analysing stats I realized that a bunch of fake engagement hit my last blog. I received 33 comments on my last story but total reads was 27 and 7 of them were no members reads. You can observe who is include in your loyal audience list.

Btw let’s get back to the topic :

How to Increase Reads:

  • Write better intros:

Articles with engaging introductions kept people reading. Readers want to know why they should keep going, so make your intro clear and exciting.

  • Know your audience:

By checking which articles got more reads, I learned that my audience liked practical advice as well personal stories. Writing for what they enjoy helped boost my read numbers.

3. Read Ratio :

Image generated by Chatgpt

The read ratio shows what percentage of people who clicked actually finished reading your article. If this number is low, it means readers are leaving before the end.

How to Improve Your Read Ratio:

  • Be clear and focused:

Make sure your headline and intro match the article. If people expect tips on productivity, don’t spend too much time on unrelated stories. Include numbers in your headlines. Observed successful writers works and learn.

  • Make it easy to read:

Use clear sections and headings to help readers navigate. This keeps them engaged and reading until the end.

4. Claps: How Much Readers Appreciate Your Work

Image generated by Gencraft

Claps show how much readers liked your article. While claps don’t affect earnings directly, they’re a good sign that people appreciate what you wrote.

  • Offer value:

The more helpful and interesting your article is, the more claps you’ll get. People appreciate content that teaches them something or gives them a new perspective.

5. Building a Loyal Audience

Fans are readers who come back to read your work regularly. Building a loyal fan base is key to long-term success on Medium.

How to Build Loyal Audience:

  • Engage with your readers :

Respond to comments and connect with people who appreciate your work. Building these relationships helps turn one-time readers into loyal fans.

  • Be consistent:

Publishing regularly gives your readers a reason to keep coming back. I found that being consistent helped me grow my audience faster.

6. Earnings:

Earning from Partner Program drive motivation to writers to publish stories. Earnings are linked to how much time people spend reading your articles. The more engaging your content, the more you’ll earn through Medium’s Partner Program.

Image generated by Gencraft

How to Increase Earnings:

  • Focus on quality and engagement:

Longer articles that keep readers engaged earn more. Write in-depth pieces that provide real value to your audience.

  • Submit to publications:

Getting published in popular Medium publications can boost your exposure and earnings. I noticed a spike in my earnings after submitting articles to larger publications.

Track Your Progress for Steady Growth

Image by Isaacsmith On Unsplash

One of the biggest things I learned was to track my progress over time. You have observed me setting goals in terms of earning and stats progress. Keep tracking my progress consistently is the secret of my enthusiasm. By setting goals and paying attention to my stats, I was able to see what was working and adjust my strategy.

How to Use Stats to Grow Faster:

  • Set goals:

I believe whether it’s getting more reads or improving your read ratio, having clear goals helps you stay focused.

  • Adapt to what works.

If certain articles perform well, write more on those topics. If something doesn’t work, change your approach. In my brief analysis I learn writing on which topic will resonate audience.

Final Thoughts:

Image by Dawson2406 on Unsplash

Learning to read and use your Medium stats is the key to growing faster. By paying attention to views, reads, claps, and earnings, you can refine your strategy and improve your results. My journey on Medium taught me that success comes from both writing regularly and learning from your stats.

If you want to grow faster on Medium, keep an eye on your stats, experiment with your content, and most importantly, enjoy the process of improving and connecting with your readers. The numbers will guide you to success.

Thank You For Reading My Blog!!

--

--