A Patriot’s Pledge

Will Staton
Indivisible Movement
1 min readFeb 2, 2017

--

I pledge to love my fellow citizens

Not for what they look like

Not for what they believe

But for who they are

I pledge to fight hate

To combat tyranny

To stand for equality

To work for justice

I pledge my time

I pledge my service

I pledge my voice

I pledge heart and mind

I will not sit down

I will not shut up

I will not go quietly

Down the ugly road of history

America is stronger together

I pledge to keep it that way

On the warmest days

And through the darkest nights

This is my pledge

I make it as a patriot

Because I love my country

And my fellow Americans

Looking to do your part? One way to get involved is to read the Indivisible Guide, which is written by former congressional staffers and is loaded with best practices for making Congress listen.

--

--

Will Staton
Indivisible Movement

Career Educator. Author of “Through Fire and Flame: Into the New Inferno.” Bylines at Arc Digital, Areo Magazine, and the Strategy Bridge.