Can the Democrats survive?

Brian J Stevens
Indivisible Movement
2 min readFeb 17, 2017

--

We are spinning out of control…

I watch as the claws come out against Bernie supporters.

I watch as the Democrats want business as usual.

I watch as we move towards Hillary 2020.

I watch as 8 years of Trumps become a reality.

Where did we go wrong — The primary

Hillary’s former co-chair should’ve never headed the DNC.

Hillary should’ve never been given questions.

The DNC should’ve stayed neutral.

DNC staffers shouldn’t have gone over to Hillary’s campaign.

What do we do now?

We fix the DNC.

We come together and ADDRESS the problems from the 2016 election.

We show Americans Democrats stand for all of them.

What happens if we don’t?

I won’t be voting Democrat.

My friends won’t be voting Democrat again.

Trump 2020

This is where I see us heading as a country. Throughout the primary I got called a “Bernie Bro” online because I agreed with him on the issues. I wanted him and Elizabeth Warren to be running this country so badly. I wanted 8 years of Bernie and then 8 years of Warren! I saw a new deal for America coming!

Yes, Trump was objectively worse than Hillary. That is why I voted for Hillary. That doesn’t mean I thought Hillary was a good candidate. I would’ve much rather voted for O’Malley, Bernie, Kassich and Rubio. Yes, I would’ve actually voted for a Republican if they were head-to-head against Hillary. I look at the issues and the record of the person and I saw Hillary switching her stance way too much for me to trust her.

We have to step back and NOT treat these people as flawless. Hillary was a flawed candidate with a long history of being wrong on issues (Same sex marriage, boarder wall, TPP, Wall-Street). We have to center ourselves on what our party actually stands for and then stand for that. We had two candidates (O’Malley and Sanders) who would’ve been a progressive candidate.

So next time, let’s pick a candidate that is an actual progressive and not just one pretending to be because that’s what is popular.

No more Chillary Clinton.

Looking to do your part? One way to get involved is to read the Indivisible Guide, which is written by former congressional staffers and is loaded with best practices for making Congress listen. Or follow this publication, connect with us on Twitter, and join us on Facebook.

--

--