Nathan Moorman, Headspace

Dominic Warren
every word matters
Published in
3 min readSep 6, 2018

My name is Nathan Moorman. I’ve been a writer for about 8 years in various industries. Currently, I’m the Senior Writer for Headspace.

How did you get into UX writing?

Honestly, it kind of happened by accident. When Headspace was starting to redesign their app, I was the only writer who had experience with UX writing (from my work in video games) so I just kind of jumped in and started doing it.

What does a normal day look like?

Every day is different but it tends to start with a quick look through my emails, Slack messages and Jira board to see if there are any emergencies. Then I go to team stand ups and buckle in for either a lot of meetings or a lot of writing.

What are the top 3 apps you use?

  • Headspace
  • Kindle
  • Reddit

Where do you go and what do you do for inspiration?

Whenever I need to be inspired, I always seem to end up at some hipster tea shop with a sci-fi/fantasy novel in hand. I’ve found that it’s easier for me to find inspiration when I’m immersed in another world and letting my mind run free rather than actively banging my head against the same problem/idea over and over again.

Are there any books or blogs you’d recommend?

For UX writing, take a look at these two articles. They’re great for helping people outside the field understand the importance of UX writers and how to work with them.

What’s the best thing about your job?

I’ve gotten to develop a brand voice that’s truly unique.

What have you worked on that you’re most proud of?

Weirdly enough, Headspace’s release notes in the app store. I love taking the time to make even the most mundane pieces of copy special, like release notes and error messages.

How do you approach getting stakeholders on board?

Lots of face-to-face conversations. I firmly believe that face-to-face conversations are far more efficient than emails when you’re trying to get everyone on the same page.

What are the biggest challenges you face as a UX writer?

Getting people to recognize how important copy/messaging is in UX and how helpful it is to have a writer working with designers to create products. A great user experience rarely happens when writers are tasked with ‘filling in the blank’.

What’s your biggest content pet peeve?

When copy/messaging is an afterthought.

What principles do you try to stick to when writing?

Every piece of copy, no matter how ‘unimportant’, is special and deserves the time and attention required to make it excellent.

When you put the user first, everything else falls into place.

The most impactful copy is the copy that people rarely see.

Do you have any advice for aspiring UX writers?

Mistakes are going to happen. That’s OK. No need to dwell on them. The only way to write fearlessly and beautifully is to fix them, learn from them and move on.

Is there anything you want to promote?

Keep an eye on the Headspace careers page. There are some cool positions open right now.

Where can people find and follow you?

www.linkedin.com/in/nathanmoorman

If you liked this article, let us know by giving it a clap 👏 It’ll also help others find it.

Want more? Follow every word matters for more interviews and insight into content design and UX writing.

every word matters is curated by Dominic Warren.

Thanks again to Nathan Moorman for taking the time to answer these questions.

--

--