Photo by Logan Fisher on Unsplash

Life is Too Hard for Most to Master

Paul Wesley Burke in "All Paths."
Evolution Now!
Published in
2 min readApr 22, 2024

--

This is preface to the publication “Evolution Now!” in a continuing series entitled “All Paths.”

Signs of an incipient, cataclysmic Earth event abound; clearly, it’s at hand! I’ve been inspired by my recent reading and re-reading of books by Ken Carey, Ervin Laszlo, Stanislav Grof and Peter Russell to write about this event and to offer my sense of what it is and what our individual roles and responses might be.

Though the event is “natural,” it is not necessarily going to involve a tsunami, an earthquake, a hurricane, tornado, flood, typhoon or asteroid strike, though it might. What we’re facing is either an extraordinary shift in human consciousness or a relatively rapid collapse of life on Earth, depending on what you believe (and do).

I offer my observations, questions and characterizations not as an expert. I am expert in nothing — possibly not even my own life — though I have done plenty of psycho-spiritual archaeology during nearly four decades on a spiritual journey.

On this journey, I did not have the benefit (or detriment) of religion, guru, mentor, traditional spiritual practice or psychotherapy. I was not able meditate without immediately falling asleep, and I didn’t use psychedelic or other drugs. And I was never alone! I have been guided, supported, nurtured and protected by Life, itself. That is the greatest blessing and the grandest lesson of my life.

What I learned on my journey is validated in the writings of scientists and mystics like Ervin Laszlo, Stan Grof, Peter Russell, Angeles Arrien, Sri Aurobindo, Thomas Keating, John A. Sanford, Eckhart Tolle, Gary Zukav and others.

What motivates me to write are: (1) my belief that life is far too hard for most to master, (2) my fervent desire that the evolution of consciousness be more widespread and more rapid and (3) the the single most credible “solution” to the urgent problems faced by America and the world is a rapid expansion of consciousness. Therefore, I respectfully offer the observations that follow.

I draw from inspiration, current events, reading and a 115,000-word manuscript entitled Organic Spirituality: All Paths Lead Us Home, to be published soon (presently seeking a literary agent).

© 2024 Paul Wesley Burke. All rights reserved.

--

--

Paul Wesley Burke in "All Paths."
Evolution Now!

With no religion, guru, meditation, spiritual practice, therapy, or drugs, I was guided on my spiritual journey, supported, nurtured and protected by Life!