How to Build a Brand in 2020

These four steps will change the marketing game for you.

Salathia Richburg
Evolve You
6 min readOct 21, 2020

--

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

2020 has been one of those years, a year filled with surprises and stress. This year has taught me how to follow my dreams and go for what is mine. It also taught me to focus on multiple streams of income because your job is never guaranteed.

In March, I was furloughed and devastated. I thought I had found my dream job, but that was only the beginning of my reality check. For a few weeks, I was depressed. I didn’t know if I should start looking for a new job or relax and be patient.

In the meantime, I decided to start putting a lot of effort into myself and my brand. The hardest part of creating a brand is establishing the roots. It doesn’t matter if you are a podcaster, writer, or entrepreneur. To market your brand, you have to build one.

First, Let’s Understand Marketing

When it comes down to marketing, you must understand and know the product to the best of your abilities to market it well. For instance, a sales manager at a hotel will study amenities, food and beverage options, unique features, and more. Doing this will allow the sales manager to market the hotel and focus on what that hotel can offer the client vs. the hotel down the street.

In other words, you need to understand your product so you can sell it. This concept applies to you too. There are millions of people in this world what makes you different?

Why should an employer choose you? Why should the reader read your work? Why should the consumer purchase your product? These questions can only be answered after conducting a raw materials assessment. In other words, you need to do a deep evaluation before you can start branding and marketing. This evaluation starts with you.

First, You Need to Complete a Raw Materials Assessment

A raw materials assessment is a self-assessment that allows you to explore every part of yourself. In other words, it helps you define your character, positive and negative traits, and more.

A raw materials assessment helps you understand yourself so you can market yourself well. It also helps you understand your foundation.

Many companies have brand pillars, core values, and mission statement that allows them to (1) stand out, (2) create consistency among the same brand in different locations, and (3) create a level of service or expectations for their associates and customers.

The same thing applies to us.

Finding our strengths and faults allow us to dig deeper into our own brand pillars and core values. When we can fully understand these areas within ourselves, we can confidently market ourselves and apply them to our brand.

Step 1: Find Your Strengths

This part might be the easiest part. What are you good at? I am sure you can write down a list of traits or accomplishments.

Let’s start with your characteristics, do you find yourself patient? Social and talkative or distant and intuitive?

When doing my own raw assessment I took a MI assessment, also known as Multiple Intelligences for Adult Literacy and Education. It is a short activity that analyzes your strengths and for the most part, it is accurate. I say try it out. You never know what you’ll learn about yourself.

While taking this self-assessment I learned that I am motivated by books, writing, and dramas. Not sure if it means plays or real-life drama but I’ll take it.

This is also why I am back on Medium. While taking this assessment I realized I love this platform. I regret deleting my account and starting all over. But, it took an assessment to remind me where my passion is.

Every strength you have can come in handy. It is like a puzzle piece. You have to find where it fits.

So how do you apply your passion to your brand?

You find where it fits best. For instance, let’s say you are a writer on Medium and one of your strengths is math then you use your mathematical skills to help you track your analytics. This doesn't mean go and obsess over them, it means you use your data to see what your readers like most.

Statistics, a form of mathematics (and data collection), will allow you to make educated guesses based on the data.

Yes, I am aware that Medium does a lot of this for you however, if you are like me — a new small writer, then your analytics are not as detailed as someone who has 100,000 followers on this platform.

What I Am Trying to Say Is…

Every strength you have can come in handy. It is like a puzzle piece. You have to find where it fits.

Step 2: Find Your Potential Strengths

You might be thinking “what the heck is a potential strength?” It is basically something you can be good at if you had more training or simply tired harder.

At first, I thought it meant I could achieve the impossible and while I wish I could be good at everything, I cannot.

We have hidden gems within us that we don’t even realize. So when we discuss potential strengths, in a way it’s finding the confidence to stick to something you could be better at with experience.

Let me share an example to help you better understand.

My potential strength is also my weakness. I have the ability to think of great business ideas but I never stick to most of them. If I was more consistent I would be a millionaire with multiple streams of income.

Step 3: Find Your Faults & Bad Habits

This isn’t the time to dwell on the negative. That is not what this step is for. This step is to focus on how to handle your negative traits and find ways to use these weaknesses as strengths.

In high school, I had two teachers. Teacher one taught Philosophy and teacher two taught Business (I was taking morning college courses my senior year.) I asked both the same question, “what do I do if I am not good at something but I want to pursue it?”

Teach one answered, “you don’t do it.”

Teacher two answered, “you hire someone who’s good at it.”

So while you analyze your faults and bad habits, you use it to find someone who is good at those things. This doesn’t mean it holds you back from creating your brand. It doesn't mean you don’t go for it.”

Step 4: Find Your Core Values

Every brand has core values. What exactly are core values? Core values are what the brand stands by — their beliefs or philosophy.

For instance, Starbuck’s core values are center around warmth and belonging. Their brand represents transparency and respect.

When I think about Starbucks great coffee comes to mind, but so does the experience.

Your core values will help you create an experience with your brand.

If you are a personal brand, then your core values build your reputation. Either way, establishing your core values is the most important step.

Examples of Core Values:

  • Loyalty
  • Growth
  • Honesty
  • Courage
  • Environmentalism
  • Consistency

So think of your core values. This is going to help your brand stick out. Are you focused on having a brand that is Eco friendly like Rothys? Or a company that focuses on minimizing its negative impact like Ben & Jerry’s?

Put It All Together

Marketing yourself and your brand in 2020 goes hand in hand. Regardless of what your brand is or how many people work with or for you, this self-assessment is essential.

Building a brand that goes beyond the service or product you are selling will keep you in business for a long time. Remember, without a good foundation the rest will crumble.

I leave you with this:

“Your brand is what other people say about you when you are not in the room.” — Jeff Bezos

--

--

Salathia Richburg
Evolve You

25. Entrepreneur, Podcaster, and Wellness Advocate.