Awakening

Daily attempt at poetry: Day 5 of 30

Amy Rosie
Evolve
1 min readJan 6, 2022

--

Photo by Sandra Kaas on Unsplash

she felt at ease in the morning breeze,
the ball of golden yellow reflected on her window
it felt as if her soul took a mystical dive
in her bed she wondered why she was alive.

for last night she wanted to end it all
she couldn’t handle living and wanted to take the fall
the broken bottle of pills on her side
reminiscent of the sharp turn she took from her stride.

is this afterlife or a fever dream?
hasn’t she drowned, but still afloat in the stream?
a second chance at this game of levels
should she decline or be her own lifeline?

— Amy

Hello there, I am doing a daily challenge of poetry for 30 days and this is Day 5. I have challenged myself to write impromptu poetry each day, and so I just hope I do not run out of ideas :)

If you’d like, please check out my Day 4 poem below:

Would you please consider buying me a coffee? Thank you so much. As an Indian national deprived of her MPP rights, this gesture of yours means a lot!

Love.

--

--

Amy Rosie
Evolve
Writer for

Moonchild. Agoraphobic. Bisexual. Works on books and caffeine. English honours and Literature major.