Scott Birchell
Evolve
Published in
Nov 13, 2021

Beauty and Debris: An Image Maker’s Diary

‘Cultish’ Beaver, West Virginia 2009/Photo by Scott Birchell

Cultish

“But God how I run around the house from the TV to books and the radio and around again for yet another spin! The drive to stay preoccupied is at once both impressive and brutal.

Sometimes a good book or movie will help me to forget but this is rare and usually I’m just left with my angry and bitter self. It’s always with me, and can rise above any distraction and command my attention.

Nothing is so loud as the voices in my head. It’s like a grim slideshow up there and sometimes I feel like I’m trapped in a cult.”

--

--

Scott Birchell
Evolve
Writer for

Photographer, Diarist. Lover of impressionist photography, short prose and killer quotes. www.scottbirchell.com