Ego won that night

A poem

Amy Rosie
Evolve
1 min readFeb 13, 2022

--

Photo by Liza Summer from Pexels

I slammed shut the door to my dorm room

Walked away with my bags to never return

Took one last glance at your face

Our eyes locked for a second

You wanted me to stay

Ego won that night

Besties to strangers

Moments to

memories.

This is a poem where the number of words decreases by one in each line — from nine words in the first line, eight in the second, to one word in the last. I don’t think there is any particular name to this type of poetry. It is freestyle and not to be confused with a nonet(a nine-line poem that has decreasing number of syllables in each line).

The poem is about the time I had a huge quarrel with my best friend/roommate in college which culminated in me moving out and taking refuge in another friend’s room in the middle of the night and also waking up an entire floor with our tantrums.

Would you please consider buying me a coffee? Thank you so much. As an Indian national deprived of her MPP rights, this gesture of yours means a lot!

Love.

--

--

Amy Rosie
Evolve
Writer for

Moonchild. Agoraphobic. Bisexual. Works on books and caffeine. English honours and Literature major.