100 and Under

Future Life in America?

Yes, if the trend continues

Ellen Baker
Evolve

--

Lately, we have experienced a situation unlike any most of us have ever known. The pandemic has left us searching for goods that were easily available before.

Now that we are emerging from the pandemic, we are facing major employee and supply chain issues. What if the trend continues?

Have you imagined what it would be like when there are no or only a few stores open?

Here’s how it might go:

Out the door at 6:30 a.m. It’s so dark without the outside store lights on. Burger King closed. McDonald’s closed. Convenience stores closed. I get to work and hurry inside. Reaching my desk, I stash the insulated bags carrying water, soda, and lunch.

We have to bring whatever we want that day since the vending machines and cafeteria are closed due to the lack of workers to keep them going. We can’t go out for lunch because the few restaurants still open are so crowded and their offerings are limited due to supply issues.

Anyway, it’s a short lunch break. Those of us still working try to do the job of a full staff even though there is a fraction of that staff left. At quitting time, I have to get gas. I check to make sure I have enough money. This is a major expense now. Then I hope to get to the store I heard has school supplies before they run out of the scarce supply.

I hope this is not the scenario of the future, but it is possible if the trend continues. More likely, things will evolve, but not likely for the better.

Here’s an interesting story by Nidhi Thakur:

--

--

Ellen Baker
Evolve
Writer for

Writing about the wonderful life of Nana/Mom, retired person who forgets she is not young anymore, and whatever else lghts an inner fire.