100 and Under

I Need Your HELP!

To help a little girl in India continue her education.

Priyanka Bhalshankar
Evolve

--

Dear Medium Family,

I am writing to you all today, to ask for help. I am in dire need of your help. But this isn’t about me or even for me. This is for a little girl named Rajeshwari in India.

Rajeshwari is an 11-year-old studying in class 6 in a public school in India. She belongs to one of the most marginalised indigenous communities of India.

Her community has been facing atrocities since time immemorial.

With great difficulty, this community has been trying to fight back the oppression by educating their children. Preparing them to study and secure a stable job to help get the community out of the shadows of poverty and misery.

Rajeshwari’s parents also have been struggling to provide education for their children. Her father works as a daily wage labourer and her mother works as a domestic worker in gated communities. This is how I know her mother.

During the pandemic, Rajeshwari’s father lost his job and has had to do small odd jobs ever since. Her younger sister was in a coma for 15 days due to an unidentified illness.

The hospital bills drained the family of every last penny they had saved. It has pushed them further into poverty.

Rajeshwari is a bright student. She loves to read out her lessons for her mother. But due to the family’s condition, she has not been able to attend her online classes throughout the pandemic.

Her family could not afford to buy her a computer or laptop or internet. This has caused her to fall behind in her studies. She now stands at the risk of dropping out of school.

So, my dear writer friends, I need your help to raise funds for Rajeshwari. To help her secure a laptop and internet connection so that she can continue her education.

I am hoping you, my dear friends will help me raise funds for Rajeshwari. She needs us to come together to help her.

Please consider donating to give Rajeshwari a bright future.

--

--