100 and Under

I Want to be a Writer.

My passion growing up has come back to take over my life, and I love it.

Katrina D.
Evolve
Published in
3 min readOct 5, 2021

--

Photo by MI PHAM on Unsplash

Growing up, I got in trouble a lot for something unconventional:

Reading too much.

My parents would limit the number of books I could buy from the Scholastic Book Club pamphlets that came to school each month. “You can pick one thing,” they said. So of course I picked the four book boxed set every time. They always let me get it!

At the dinner table, I got reprimanded for reading and not engaging in the conversation. My mom took to taking the lamp out of my room at night so I wouldn’t stay up all hours, engaged in a novel (eventually I got a book light, so you know how that worked out).

I loved reading. Disappearing into a different world, attaching my heart to the trials of a brave but terrified protagonist, refusing to turn a page in dread of what comes next. I lived in every story I held in my hands.

Eventually, I began writing my own. I based my first stories on whatever TV show or book series I was into at the time.

In elementary school, I wrote fanfiction about Harry Potter, and an anime series called Yoroiden Samurai Troopers. At fourteen, I crafted a speech about peace as Heero…

--

--

Katrina D.
Evolve
Writer for

Dancer. Writer. California-grown. I find myself happiest when creating something out of nothing.