“I want to talk more but I’m not confident"

You’re not alone— there’s help!

Olusegun Iyejare
Evolve
2 min readApr 27, 2022

--

Photo by mentatdgt on Pexels

I asked a question on a private mental health group about what people would do more if they were more confident.

About 70% of the responses were "talk more and make more friends." I can totally relate to that.

But instead of building confidence to talk more, I think you can turn it around and talk more to build confidence.🤔

Either way, it works hand in hand.

Here’s how it works...

For you to desire to talk more when you become confident, it means you think you have something to say.

So the issue is not not having something to say but that you’re not confident to say it. (Read: you’re not sure if it’s worth saying).

Once you’re sure people will appreciate what you have to say, you have no problem saying it.

But the only way to know if people will appreciate it is by actually saying it.😔

I always believed I was boring. Some people even told me I was boring and this was the same strategy that helped me.

The moment I started to talk (more), I discovered people weren’t actually "bored" as I thought they would be.

The more I talked, the more I discovered my talking was appreciated (I became more confident to talk.)

It's a cycle: if you don't talk, you'll think your talk isn't worth it, and so you'll be more afraid to talk and less confident again, and so on...

At worst, if you talk and people don't appreciate what you say, you have discovered what to work on. You can improve from there.

But how will you know if you're doing well or boring if you don't talk?

Pls just talk! I'm with you.❤️

Photo by Olusegun Iyejare

--

--

Olusegun Iyejare
Evolve
Writer for

I help victims of the environment maximize their potential to live satisfying lives regardless of obvious limitations holding them back