Photo by Weronika Karczewska on Unsplash

100 and Under | Microfiction

It’s a Morning Thing

thekempster
Evolve
Published in
2 min readOct 20, 2021

--

Death-tingles shoot down my spine as the blue light didn’t shine, the thing, now dark, dull, lifeless. A mood, a day without that blue light, a life doomed.

Anxious moments ensued; the cord, buttons, useless self talk, tapping the side of this inanimate thing. Nothing.

Raven sang loudly to an empty soul, body slumped, head down, toes dragging the ground as the dog sniffed, pee’d, and pooped.

Oh! The light! That shiny beautiful blue light of life, casting a shimmer of hope on my mug, now full of the hot dark liquid nectar of positivity!

Author’s note

The above microfiction piece was a reflection of my morning yesterday when I couldn’t get the damn coffee maker to work. I had to laugh as it finally came on and I had acted completely like life would cease.

--

--

thekempster
Evolve
Writer for

Big on ideas but short on reality, I enjoy the process of waking up early morning with ideas then spilling them on the page while sipping morning coffee.