Rain on my Tent

Music to my ears

Yonke54
Evolve

--

Anchoring a backpacking tent to the ground, photo courtesy of the author

Raindrops pounding my tent,
They sound like thunderous applause,
Every time the wind gusts,
And throws them in bunches
Against the fly.

Lightning flashes remind me
Of other power surges.

Thin sheets of nylon
Are all that shield me
From the wet and chaos.

But all is well,
Because the dome protecting me
Is well anchored.
And I am warm and dry,
Zipped-up inside.

I’m getting sleepy,
Even though it’s only 4:00 in the afternoon.

It’s good to be
Settled into my sleeping bag,
Just as the music begins.

I close my eyes and listen.
As the Rain Symphony gets underway.

I’m intent on absorbing its every nuance.
The subtle pauses and crescendos,
The somber moments and tempo changes.

Have I heard this one before, I wonder?
Some parts sound familiar.

--

--

Yonke54
Evolve
Writer for

David Appleton has been an adventurer and adventure guide for 50 years. He writes poetry and short stories about some of his past experiences.