Raised Voices Floating

A free-verse poem

srstowers
Evolve
Nov 19, 2021

--

Image by Comfreak from Pixabay

Raised voices floating
froze me one foot
on the stairs. I was
a rabbit, so
inconsequential,
so nearly nothing,
a blur of furry panic
hop-running to some
future, a safety of frost
or fire, time’s pendulum
a mere weight.

Image by Gerhard G. from Pixabay

It was
your anger that swung
from believer to skeptic,
stripping my skin from neck
to unlucky feet
while I stood still,
understanding only
the floor and its
pattern of smoke
and leaves.

Image by Kranich17 from Pixabay

Here’s what I
learned: to use
my ears first —
and then how
to use my eyes
to disappear
right before you,
the reverse of
being pulled out
of a magician’s hat.

To hear the poem read by the author, click here:

Stream episode Raised Voices Floating by SheilatheCat podcast | Listen online for free on SoundCloud

The author is fond of coffee

--

--

srstowers
Evolve

high school English teacher, cat nerd, owner of Grading with Crayon, and author of Biddleborn.